Friday, June 15, 2012

Yahoo! OMG! Awards 2012

Yahoo! launches its second annual OMG! Awards in the Philippines
Entertainment’s biggest event honors the Philippines’ brightest stars and stellar fans

MANILA, 13 JUNE, 2012 Yahoo!, the premier digital media company, announced the launch of its second annual OMG! Awards honoring the Philippines’ most favorite celebs, emerging stars and dedicated fans in the field of music, film and television who have trended the most on Yahoo! Search over the past year. The biggest entertainment event of the year will draw Kapatid, Kapuso and Kapamilya stars together in one glamorous evening.

One hundred and twenty nine nominees in 26 categories have been short-listed by Yahoo! editors after tallying millions of search queries between March 2011 and March 2012 on Yahoo!’s No 1 entertainment property in the Philippines, Yahoo! OMG!.

This year, the search- and poll-based awards has added new categories to recognize the contributions of DJs and radio stations that promote Original Pilipino Music, as well as shine a spotlight on the fans who have shown immense support to the Filipino stars and to the Philippines’ entertainment industry as a whole.

Voting for these web celebs is open online at as well as via text messaging to 2222# from now until 28 June, 2012. The purple carpet awards night, set for July 6, will take place at Manila’s newest venue: Mall of Asia Arena. Tickets are available free from any SM Cinema outlet.

Hosted by Raymond Gutierrez and the “It girls” – the Call Me Maybe ladies: Solenn Heusaff, Isabelle Daza and Georgina Wilson, the awards night will kick-off with celebrity fashion on the purple carpet with spot interviews and glam shots of the best-dressed, song and dance performances, among other shows.

Arlene Amarante, Country Ambassador and Sales Director of Yahoo! Philippines said, “Yahoo! has played a central role in the lives of millions of Filipinos who come to our leading online sites to connect and communicate with friends and family and discover things they didn’t know. Yahoo! Search trends represent what Filipinos are reading, thinking, talking, searching and sharing; it also gives us the insights into what matters to them most.”

OMG! Awards builds on Yahoo! Search, the popularity of its content properties and Filipinos’ love for music and entertainment to connect with the Filipino society. “OMG!’s success is a true testament of Yahoo!’s commitment to our online users by delivering compelling content that creates meaningful digital experiences and connecting our advertisers with these audiences through relevant, engaging and successful campaigns,” Ms Amarante said.

Yahoo! OMG! Awards is sponsored by Magnum and Sun Cellular. Users can follow the Awards on Twitter at #omgawards and “Like” its Facebook page on; regular updates will be featured on Yahoo! OMG! site.

The 24 categories and nominees for the Yahoo! OMG! Awards are as follows:

Actor of the year:
John Llyod Cruz, Gerald Anderson, Coco Martin, Derek Ramsey, Dingdong Dantes

Actress of the year:
Marian Rivera, Anne Curtis, Christine Reyes, Carla Abellana, Angel Locsin

Celebrity of the year:
Shamcey Supsup, KC Concepcion, Sam Pinto, Marian Rivera, Anne Curtis

Major Impact:
Dolphy, Nora Aunor, Vilma Santos, Sharon Cuneta, Bong Revilla

Male Singer of the year:
Jovit Baldivino,
Christian Bautista, Elmo Magalona, Someday Dream Gloc 9

Female Singer of the year:
Angeline Quinto, Julie Anne San Jose, Sarah Geronimo, Charice, Yeng Constantino

Breakthrough Actor of the year:
Alden Richards, Xian Lim, Enchong Dee, Edgar Allan Guzman, Martin Escudero

Breakthrough Actress of the year:
Rhian Ramos, Maja Salvador, Lovi Poe, Kim Chiu, Erich Gonzales

Most Promising Actor:
Elmo Magalona, Enrique Gil, Paulo Avelino, Rocco Nacino, JM de Guzman

Most Promising Actress:
Julia Montes, Bela Padilla, Kathryn Bernardo, Eula Caballero, Bea Binene

Best Male Newcomer:
Diego Loyzaga, Richard Yap, Daniel Padilla, AJ Muhlach, Slater Young

Best Female Newcomer:
Solenn Heusaff, Jasmine Curtis Smith,Yen Santos, Coleen Garcia, Kylie Padilla

Comedian of the year:
Jose and Wally, Vhong Navarro, Ogie Alcasid, Vice Ganda, Vic Sotto

Comedienne of the year:
Pokwang, Eugene Domingo, Angelica Panganiban, Ai Ai Delas Alas, K Brosas

Favorite Male TV Host:
Boy Abunda, Vic Sotto, Willie Revillame, Luis Manzano, Ryan Agoncillo

Favorite Female TV Host:
Toni Gonzaga, Bianca Gonzales, Kris Aquino, Pauleen Luna, Pia Guanio

Best FM Radio Station:
Magic 89.9, RX 93.1, WLS FM 97.1, Love Radio 90.7, Melow 94.7

Best FM Radio Show:
Boys Night Out, The Morning Rush, Good Times with Mo, The Wake-up Show, Sam and Gibb Show

Male Radio DJ of the year:
Mo Twister, Papa Jack King, DJ Logan, Sam YG, Christsuper

Female Radio DJ of the year:
Grace Lee, Nicole Eala, Sam Oh, Tracy Abad, Angelicopter

Movie of the year:
Unofficially Your, Temptation Island, No Other Woman, Praybeyt Benjamin, Babae Sa Septic Tank

Fan Club of the year:
Chasters, Dong Yan, Julie Elmo, Ashrald, KimXi

Love Team of the year:
Bea Binene and Jake Vargas, Kim Chiu and Xian Lim, Sarah Geronimo and Gerald Anderson, Julie Ann San Jose and Elmo Magalona, John Lloyd and Angel Locsin,

It couple of the year:
Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes, Angel Locsin and Phil Younghusband, Shalani Soledad and Roman Romulo, Judy Ann Santos and Ryan Agoncillo, Anne Curtis and Erwan Heussaff

Band of the year:
General Luna, Parokya ni Edgar, Urbandub, Kamikazee, Wolfgang

Child Star of the year:
Xaijan Jaranilla, Mona Louise Rey, Yogo Singh, Xyriel Manabat